Making money with your music

Today I digress from the topic of songwriting to talk about money.

If you’re like me, you’ve spent way too much time scouring the web for a way to promote your band and make money with your music. I’ve read articles and e-books, joined social networks, created web sites, submitted to contests, and on and on. Some were very useful, others were marginally helpful. And nothing really stood out as a comprehensive solution.

Recently, I ran across the most direct, helpful, up-to-date and seemingly complete source of nuts and bolts information and advice and it’s completely free. I have nothing to gain from mentioning it, and I don’t know the person, but I couldn’t, in good conscience, keep it to myself.

I suspect if you follow all his advice…you will be using the web to your best advantage.

The resource is a blog called New Music Strategies and the free e-book called The 20 Things You Must Know about Music Online by Andrew Dubber. You may already know about it, but for me, it was a real eye-opener. The book is spot on and to the point. The advice is not too general and not too techie.

I suspect if you follow all his advice and extrapolate it to apply to your specific situation, then you will be using the web to your best advantage.

So for myself, I took a few immediate action steps. First, I got my bandmate to read it, and I read it through once again (96 pages, but with big print and lots of white space, so it’s a quick read), and then we started to implement the ideas, one by one. I’ll report back to let you know our progress and our results.

Get your copy here.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

