Jonathan Coulton – a song a week

Yesterday’s post reminded me of a similar story I was following awhile back. To recap, yesterday NPR featured a segment on David Morneau, a doctoral candidate in musical composition at Ohio State. He decided to write a song a day for an entire year. He says he had hit a creative block and wanted a deadline to help him develop some musical self-discipline (I paraphrase).

I remember another guy who also wanted to set arbitrary deadlines for his songwriting. His name is Jonathan Coulton. He quit his day job and started a project called Thing a Week in which he wrote a song each week for a year and posted them on his web site. He writes quirky songs about geeky subjects. Some of them became big internet hits.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Jonathan Coulton – a song a week”

  1. A » Blog Archive » Jonathan Coulton - a song a week Says:

    […] Jonathan Coulton – a song a week Yesterday’s post reminded me of a similar story I was following awhile back. To recap, yesterday NPR featured a segment on David Morneau, a doctoral candidate in musical composition at Ohio State. He decided to write a song a day for an entire year. He says he had hit a creative block and wanted a deadline to help him develop some musical self-discipline (I paraphrase). I remember another guy who also wanted to set arbitrary deadlines for his songwriting. His name is Jonathan Coulton. He qui […]

  2. Corinne C Says:

    Now writing a song a week, I might be able to manage – Even though I signed up for 5090 FAWM, I’ve only written 2 songs thus far. I’m not complaining – I really can’t envision writing 50 songs in 90 days, so writing a song a week would be fantastic!

    A song a day -that seems nigh impossible!

Leave a Reply

