Dry spells

Like most of us, I guess, I go through dry spells. During these times I like to say to myself “OK, it’s not working now, so I’m going to stop trying for awhile.” That alone can break spell. It the takes the ‘force’ out of it.

Another trick is to learn to play some new songs (other peoples’ songs). It’s fun and it keeps me doing something musical, even though I’m not writing. But the best part is, the process of figuring out the chords and voicings and learning the lyrics of other writers’ songs often wakes up my muse and the dry spell is over.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

