Happy New Year

As part of your New Year’s resolutions, consider what you would be willing to do in 2009 to improve your songwriting. Is this the year you take your first songwriting workshop or attend a songwriting camp? Will you submit a song to a contest or join Taxi? Is it time to finally crack open that songwriting book you bought last year?

The end of the year/beginning of a new year is a good time to give yourself the credit you deserve for accomplishments over the past 12 months. Maybe you didn’t get that recording contract, but you did make some progress in that direction. What’s the next thing you can do to continue? It’s time to celebrate your successes, even the little ones. It’s also a good time to plan your 2009 goals and commit to doing what it takes to achieve them.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Happy New Year”

  1. Lorelei Loveridge Says:

    To ‘extend’ my songwriting in 2009, let’s say, I have plans to do some reading in an area I don’t normally dwell in: chants. This is with a very specific goal in mind: to ultimately record an album of eastern chants. I suspect I won’t win any songwriting awards for this! However, a song is not the lyrics alone, so I intend to supplement all that heady stuff with 30 minutes of daily practice on the 10 main Hindustani ragas that I learned on the banks of the Ganges in Varanasi, India only 11 years ago! Instrumentally, I have it on my radar to practice 15-30 minutes per day on some music books I bought last year. Finally, because I now reside in the UK, and because storytelling in songs and balladry are such an important part of this culture, I intend to learn some British folk classics. Hopefully funny ones. There you have it. I’ve laid my songwriting/musical resolutions out for the world to see. Good question, Dan.

Leave a Reply

