Practice

The irritating truth of it is, songwriting takes practice. It seems I never tire of saying it. You can read books & blogs, take classes, go to workshops and subscribe to ‘zines, but these are all supplemental to a steady, ongoing, daily practice routine.

It takes practice to fully apply what you are learning, to really internalize it. It takes practice to make sense of some of the stuff you’ve only read about. And it takes that daily, repetitive ‘P’ word to find what works for you.

What do I mean when I say to practice writing songs? I simply mean write a song, including the rewrites. Then write another one and so on. It’s hands-on learning. It’s learning by doing.

This is so important, yet how many times do we overlook it, instead, spending our energies searching for a new technique or new teacher who will give us the secret to songwriting?

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Practice”

  1. songwriter Says:

    that is so true.
    I remember back in the day when I spent so much time searching for techniques, methods, neglecting to actually write a song. Now i write very often and improvements are so evident. Practice is key. Can check out my songs at http://www.plugmysongs.com or other good songs by amateur writers

  2. Robert Says:

    I practice the bass guitar every day. For me, there is no drudgery in it, because I’ve incorporated practicing into my daily routine. It’s gotten to the point where I just don’t feel right if I have not played during the course of a day. This is one way I can tell I’m a true musician — playing an instrument is something I’ve done all my life, since about six years of age.

    If you practice songwriting and hate it, maybe it’s the wrong activity. What I mean to say is: If you have an affinity for songwriting, it should not be so bad; it can even be enjoyable to practice and see yourself improving incrementally.

Leave a Reply

