Start with the title

I have always wished that my computer would be as easy to use as my telephone. My wish has come true. I no longer know how to use my telephone.

— Bjarne Stroustrup, computer science professor and designer of C++ programming language

Q. I’m a beginning songwriter. I’ve got a good title and an idea of what the song is about. What do I do next?

A. A good song title is an excellent place to start. A strong title with a strong concept is even better. Just let the title inspire you to fill in the rest.

How to start? Well, how about writing the chorus next, since you usually find the title in the chorus (sometimes more than once). And since the chorus gets repeated, once you’ve written that, you’re more than halfway there.

Sometimes we all just need a friendly kick in the pants to get us going. The best writers can apply that kick to themselves (they must be contortionists or yoga practitioners).

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

