Sloan Wainwright

Yesterday at the Strathmore in Bethesda, MD, Sloan Wainwright presented a two hour songwriting workshop. Two hours might not seem enough to scratch the surface of the topic, however, Sloan made the most of it and I found it extremely worthwhile.

I wish I could take everything I heard and learned yesterday and pass it on to you, but it doesn’t work that way. The things that struck me as profound may be old hat to you and vice versa.

My take-away for you is, don’t miss a chance to get advice from a pro, whether it’s a lecture, a critique, a songwriting workshop or a full immersion songwriting camp.

Every teacher has something different to offer, and if you keep an open mind, you are likely to come away with some real gems, usable tips and helpful concepts. In Sloan’s case, she demystified the process and ‘gave us permission’ to write with our internal editor ‘off.’ She assigned three different in-class writing exercises that for me, started up the engine, opened up a channel and gave me the jumpstart I needed.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

