Government grants for singer/songwriters

Government grants for singer/songwriters

Does that headline sound like a scam or what? It’s for real and it’s all good news for singers, songwriters, performers and other artists.

Last night I attended a workshop sponsored by the Songwriters Association of Washington (so I knew it was completely legit from the get-go). The workshop title was “Taken for Granted: Uncovering Grant Opportunities for Songwriters in the DC Metro Area”

Maureen Andary described how she was able to get several grants from the DC government and explained it all in detail. She had even researched the surrounding counties and municipalities (Montgomery and Prince Georges in Maryland, Arlington, Fairfax and Alexandria in Virginia) so she was able to speak about them all and help audience members with their location-specific questions.

The biggest surprise to me is that there actually IS grant money available even to singer/songwriters and bands. If you are an organization or partner with one, there are other grants available (in bigger amounts).

She explained that even though the grant world may be a strange new planet for (non-classical) musicians, it’s not that difficult to apply and not that difficult to win a grant. Further, the grant officer was very helpful to her in the process, so you’re not on your own.

I’m looking forward to implementing some of her advice and I’ll report back with my experiences. Wish me luck.

Tags: , , , , ,

31 Responses to “Government grants for singer/songwriters”

  1. Jenna Says:

    Hi, i just wanted to reach out to you and say thanks. I am a singer/songwriter and i have been trying to find funding and grant opportunities for a while now. Your words gave me hope and i am not going to give up. Do you have any advice on where to go for those opportunities? If you do it would be much appreciated. Let me know if you do and i can tell you where i am in in my music career. But overall thanks, it has been another day of calling organizations, researching, writing proposals and i came across this and now i am motivated again!

    Peace
    Jenna

  2. donald hill jr Says:

    my peers tell me i am one of the top songwriters of R&b, Gospel, Pop, hip hop among other styles of music. i am seeking grant information on how to support myself while i pursue ventures musically with companies or as an independent label. thank you very much.

  3. Bullfrog Says:

    This is a constant prayer for me. I have been writing songs over half my life. I began performing them live and playing guitar and harmonica along with singing the songs I write back in 2007. I have about 32 songs uploaded to youtube, most are not covers; But, I have hundreds of really great material that I’ll never get enough time in my life as a 55 year old working man. I seriously Need to find funds to live on for at least a year, to get the rest of my material down and publicized. I continue to come up with new material just about daily, so, either I’ll clone myself(not) or I’ll find a way to finance my meeger lifestyle so I can work Full Time producing my gift, music.

  4. MONEY for a Struggling Artist Says:

    I would like some assistance with getting some monies so I will be able to follow my dream. WILL someone help me & tell me where I can go to get funding please.

  5. Shelby Porter Says:

    I am also a struggling gospel artist. i need financial help. i need to know where to go to get money. Please help!

  6. wedding singer uk Says:

    wedding singer uk…

    […]Government grants for singer/songwriters « Songwriter’s Tip Jar[…]…

  7. Gary s. Chapman Says:

    Me and Bullfrog are in the same BOAT !!! At 62 I have been songwriting all my life but NOW I need to try and do something with them !! It only takes one ! In Nashville all the publishers tell you to just send them a (GUITAR DEMO ) but what they don’t tell you is those are the first one to go to the landfill . It cost about $600 per song for a GOOD demo . I am looking for some help to do some GOOD demo work on my songs so they will have a fighting chance !!! I hope you can help THANKS !!! Gary .

  8. unpas Says:

    I do agree with all of the ideas you’ve introduced to your post. They’re very convincing and can certainly work. Nonetheless, the posts are too short for beginners. May just you please prolong them a little from subsequent time? Thank you for the post.

  9. PAULETTE iNGRAM Says:

    AS a new up and coming singer/songwriter/poet i never dream in a million years i would be writing and producing great music, at my age 49.!! It is a very special time in my life. It is not to late to fullfill your dreams!! i am taking a chance on life stream this will be my first time getting a goverment grant “Queen of the grants!!!

  10. Jenna Lavoie Says:

    @Paulette Ingram:
    How did you go about it and where are you getting your grant from. I am in a transition and all the sign point to taking the leap and choosing only music! I am about to record an album and will be fundraising for it on kICKSTARTER.COM…but I need to support myself. I think im going to trust what the universe is telling me and go for it!! Any thoughts on where to go?

  11. PAULETTE iNGRAM Says:

    Hi jenna, there is free money out there.!!! in the universe lots of it, iam a woman of Great Faith. owner of a restaurant for eight year singer songwriter, this weekend i will be performing with the local song writers group of windsor, .we produce an album for the war of 1812. Get on the web and click away you will find your money all the bbest!!!

  12. Add Fax Loan No Payday Site Web Says:

    I have learn some good stuff here. Certainly
    price bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how a lot effort you put to make this sort of fantastic informative web
    site.

  13. Cora Jordan Says:

    My 20 old son and his friends have started their own label. They need financial backing. Are their any grants available for aspiring rappers? Thanks

  14. Darline Herschel Emely Derrick Ester Ben Tonie Dino Teresa Rodrick Mitsue Randal Eusebia Stacey Lavonda Arthur Janise Brandon Kristan Jess Annmarie Wendell Allyn Derick Keila Curt Tammara Eldridge Bree Lenny Tona Luther Laurene Mariano Kitty Arturo Sarah Says:

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this outstanding blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to new updates and will share this blog with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon! Darline Herschel Emely Derrick Ester
    Ben Tonie Dino Teresa Rodrick Mitsue Randal Eusebia Stacey Lavonda Arthur Janise Brandon Kristan Jess Annmarie
    Wendell Allyn Derick Keila Curt Tammara Eldridge Bree Lenny Tona Luther Laurene
    Mariano Kitty Arturo Sarah Kennith Felecia Charley
    Rosie Donte Carmela Louis Norah Kip Melissa Johnathon Carma Gil Olivia Chauncey Fannie Oswaldo Denisse Gus Sharon Domingo Glinda Lesley Minta
    Irving Altagracia Dong Kathryne Markus Lori Alfredo Candie Steven
    Lara Hiram Tawna Dario Deeann Loren Tracey Wesley Corey Miles Ja Garth Geri Carter Easter Harris Laurel Kent Moon Stephen
    Madonna Val Carleen Neal Liberty Jerold Lady Alejandro Billie
    Miles

    • jennasongbird Says:

      You aren’t interested in creating a grant for a singer songwriter are you? 😉 haha! Seems this blog has helped fill many BEings of music with lots of love and trust! I know it did for me for sure. Still searching grants. Will never stop DOing what I came here to do. ❤

  15. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JoRWJriSgKc Says:

    Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason appeared
    to be at the web the easiest factor to bear in mind of.
    I say to you, I definitely get annoyed whilst other people think about issues that
    they just don’t recognize about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the top as smartly as outlined out the entire thing with no need side-effects , other people could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thank you

  16. Allen Eason Says:

    Hi, I’m an singer/songwriter/poet/rapper I have been singing and writing music since I was 7 years old…I have song on Apollo, American Idol, X factor, and The Voice…I am very passionate about music I’m currently in college for music, performance & production and I’m trying very hard to get in the music industry..I need help to whom this may concern I need help getting discovered…if anybody can help me reach my goal, I would appreciated & you’ll gain a friend for life…thanks

  17. Helen Patterson Says:

    Helen Patterson-Writerseven@ymail.com
    Hello, I’m a playwright/singer/songwriter/musician. I’ve written this amazing screenplay/musical. The songs are truly outstanding.
    I need to get into the studio and record a demo, and then get this
    project into the right hands. This is a great story. I would like to
    start putting together my team. Putting the word out-let’s go forward
    and achieve the Oscar, Grammy, and the Tony.

  18. Pet Clothes for Small Dogs Says:

    Government grants for singer/songwriters | Songwriter’s Tip Jar

    […]I am no longer certain the place you’re getting your information, but great topic.[…]

  19. business grants Says:

    Attractive component too content. I simply stumbled upon your
    site andd in accession capital to claim that I
    get in fact enjoyed account yor blog posts. Any way
    I will be subscribing for your augment or eve I fulfillment you get addmission
    to constantly quickly.

  20. David Prentice Pearsall Says:

    Hi. David Prentice Pearsall here. I am a musician born. So it comes rather easy for me. It has been my all consuming passion for nearly as long as I’ve been alive. However. I discovered the hard way that your music, no matter how good it is. Will go no where with out proper promotion. Which costs an arm & a leg. The cheapest commodity on music row is talent. For most of us promotion is weighed in the balance. Do we pay the rent and provide for our families…or do we pay for promotion. The answer is obvious. So we go out looking for funding to do just that. These folks talk a good game. But I’ve been looking far too long to take anyone’s word on such a thing. So if you are not just blowing smoke. We would be interested to know. I notice you didn’t say anything about how to make it happen. What is your reasoning behind that? Skeptical….you bet. Been there, Done that, and walked away with nothing but a throbbing head.

  21. willie Says:

    seeking garnts to promote my music.

  22. willie Says:

    seeking grants to promote my music.

  23. SHANTELHEART Says:

    Reblogged this on eNISED eMARKETING firm.

  24. wonokaha S Ahmadu Says:

    HI
    Am a 27 old youths living in the northern part of Nigeria, am a singer and a songwriter with over 400 songs and i can sing them all but all i need is support to cream this dream.

    thanks
    wonokaha S. Ahmadu

  25. robert taylor Says:

    im a writer i have people interested but i cant come up with studio and recording time in nashvilleif funds come i would give a percentage of royalities so try to get in touch with me we can talk robert taylor e-mail me starmaster4434_99@yahoo.com

  26. Ray McGuire Says:

    just a pair of PA speakers and I;m on my own Small venues tour. I already have one cd released. recording 2nd.

  27. Patti O'Gara Says:

    I have 3 songs recorded and copyrighted. It is expensive. Now looking for people to record a little nicer. Last quote I had was $1200 a song with the proper people. Have more than 20 more getting ready to CR…I do three at a time. Know I need the proper singers and it costs money. You do not say where to look for grants. All the articles I find on line are about wanting them and do not tell you where to go….same with this one! Patti O’Gara

  28. Lakita Happel Says:

    Appreciate the site– extremely easy to navigate and tons of stuff to consider!

  29. tramel Johnson Says:

    i would like to be informed how to obtain a songwriters grant, i am a long time songwriter with many songs writen and arranged by myself, i am seeking a grant in order to pay for recording sesions and demo singers, amongst other needs, copyrights, lawer, and so forth..thank you.

Leave a Reply

