5 daily goals

Alright, so I’m way behind on the challenge. I’ve given up on winning it, actually. And that may seem like a lame thing to do or something, but it’s not all bad news.

Yes, I feel a little sheepish to have ‘quit’ after only one (of nine) weekly blog posts. To recap, I recently undertook Ariel’s Music Success in 9 Weeks Blogging Challenge. At the time I thought, ‘this may be just the kick in the pants I need.’ The rules are minimal: read the book, one chapter a week, do the exercises and blog about it, one blog entry per chapter. In order to qualify for the contest, all you need to do is create nine blog entries, taking your readers through your experience and blog about what you are learning, how it is helping, where you where you are getting stuck, etc. etc. This is the 2nd time she’s run this challenge. You can read comments from previous participants here.

Sometimes I’d rather drool in front of the TV than tackle a ‘music business’ project.

So far, so good. I read the first chapter, did the exercises and wrote a blog post. Thing is, one of the exercises really started working for me. It was the one where you write down 5 achievable goals every day and complete them. It seems so simple and obvious. But, like many of you, I have a day job. So getting music business stuff done is a chore. When I find free time, I’d rather rehearse, write a song, chill. Sometimes I’d also rather clean the toilet or drool in front of the TV than to tackle a ‘music business’ project. But somehow this little exercise got me going. So I put a little more energy into it and it grew.

Still every day, I wonder ‘How am I ever going to find 5 new goals that I can manage today, given the spare time (or lack thereof) at hand?’ And sure enough, I find a list of 8 or more. I pick the 5 most important and I make sure they get done. Sometimes, it’s as simple as making a phone call to pursue a gig opportunity. The daily goal is not to book the gig, but to take one step toward booking the gig. It’s showing me what a procrastinator I’ve been and it’s curing it.

The momentum builds. By the end of one week 25 things have been completed, 35 if you don’t take weekend off. And the following week 25 more. So the sheer volume of tasks getting accomplished is amazing.

And that’s my excuse for not getting to chapter two yet. Perhaps reading chapter two should be on my daily list.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

