Do you really listen to full albums?

poodle DJ with headphones and 4 turntables

I used to love listening to complete albums – a set of songs meant to be listened to together and in a specific order. I hadn’t thought about that for a while until I saw this NPR blog post which asks,

When was the last time you really listened to an album all the way through, from start to finish without interruption?

And my answer, I’m ashamed to say, is a long, long time ago. Not only would I listen to an album all the way through way back then, but I would listen again and again, not only to those that I fell in love with at first listen, but also to those that didn’t grab me right away. And many of those non-grabbers grew on me with multiple listenings.

Now, I listen to single songs, jumping from iTunes to YouTube, in between answering emails and doing a million other non-musical things. If I can give my full attention for an extended period of time to a movie or a concert, why not an album?

What about you? Do you ever listen to a full album, start to finish?

See the full NPR post: http://www.npr.org/blogs/allsongs/2013/05/20/185534315/do-you-really-listen-to-full-albums?sc=tw&cc=twmp

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Do you really listen to full albums?”

  1. Jon McAuliffe Says:

    I listen to full albums in their entirety daily via CD in my car and at home on my analog stereo system. one of the greatest relaxations I know. Those too busy to recharge their souls by disconnecting from the commercial digital world for an hour or two and tuning into an artist’s intended expression (full CD), books, visual arts, film, etc. are being held captive by too many conventional dictates created primarily as vehicles for commerce.

Leave a Reply

